DAWN Visioning Team

Joseph Johnson, Medical Director

Dr. Joseph Johnson is an internal medicine physician who in his day job serves low-income, frail older adults at InnovAge in Lakewood, Colorado. He co-founded the DAWN Clinic with Dr. Mader in 2015 and since that time has served as the Medical Director. His primary role is to ensure high quality, patient-centered care to every patient who walks in the door at DAWN. Dr. Johnson also serves as a health policy aide to Senator Rhonda Fields, who serves as the Chair of Health and Human Services Committee in the Colorado State Senate. This advocacy role works to ensure that her constituents in Aurora have access to the health care they need. Dr. Johnson lives in Idledale with his wife, cat, puppy, and vegetable garden.

Kari Mader, Associate Medical Director

Kari is a family medicine physician who in her day job is co-director of the medical student education program in the UC Department of Family Medicine, and practices outpatient medicine, inpatient, and obstetrics at Denver Health and University of Colorado Hospital. She is passionate about leadership, education, and models of improving community health. At DAWN she focuses on mentoring the development of women’s health programs, the research and evaluation team, and interprofessional student leadership.

Sally Garcia, Nurse Clinic Manager

Renee Johnson, Student Director

Renee is a pharmacy student graduating in 2021 and one of the student directors at DAWN. She has previously been involved with the scheduling group and safety and risk management groups as well as being a clinic manager. As a student director, she is in charge of overseeing clinic managers and the quality and safety division.

Miles Viseur, Student Director

Miles is a medical student graduating in 2020 and one of the student directors at DAWN. Prior to medical school he also volunteered as a Spanish interpreter at DAWN. He is passionate about providing care to those that need it most. As a student director, he is in charge of overseeing the primary care division and leadership development.

Alex Ho, Student Director

Alex is a Student Director who has served at DAWN for the past 3 years. Through his various positions as Care Coordinator and eventually the workgroup co-lead, Alex has come to appreciate the time and dedication that goes into fostering Aurora’s well being. As a Student Director, he hopes to not only continue serving the patients at DAWN, but also supporting the amazing student volunteers who dedicate their time to Aurora’s wellness

Nick Arlas, Student Director

Josh Ferreri, Division Chair for Primary Care

Josh is a medical student graduating in 2020 and serves as one of the Primary Care Division Chairs at DAWN clinic. He is incredibly passionate about serving his community and believes DAWN clinic’s mission and goals align with his own. He has served as a volunteer with both the MD/PA/NP workgroup as well as the Care Coordination workgroup in the past. As a Primary Care Division Chair, he is in charge of helping to oversee those workgroups classified as Primary Care and to facilitate conversation between these workgroups and DAWN leadership to continue to push DAWN’s vision forward.

Alex Nguyen, Division Chair for Primary Care

Alex is a medical student graduating in 2020 and one of the Primary Care Division Chairs. He has previously served as both the MD/PA/NP workgroup leader and the Subspecialties leader, as well as acted as a student director on specialty clinic nights. Alex hopes to use his past experience to improve the clinic’s medical services in his new role leading the Primary Care Division.

Michael Miller, Division Chair for Quality and Safety

Courtney Pos, Division Chair for Patient Coordination

My name is Courtney Pos. I’m from Chicago, IL. I received my bachelor’s degree in Nutrition Science from Indiana University prior to moving to Colorado to complete my PharmD here at CU Anschutz. I enjoy spending time with friends and family and attempting all the outdoor activities Colorado has to offer!

Brendan Thammarath, Division Chair for Subspecialties

Brendan Thammarath is a first year physician assistant student in the Child Health Associate/ Physician Assistant program at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus. He is part of the Urban Underserved Track and hopes to serve his community as a Primary Care provider after graduation.

Hunter Lacouture, Division Chair for Subspecialties

Annalise (Anna) Grammerstorf, Division Chair for Subspecialties

Annalise is a physician assistant student in the CHA/PA program who will be graduating in 2022. She is a co-director of subspecialties and is looking forward to helping subspecialty nights run smoothly so we can best serve our patients at DAWN.

Samuel Merrill, Division Chair for Subspecialties

Kaden Parks, Division Chair for Subspecialties

Shasta Small, School of Pharmacy Representative

Riley Johnson, School of Dental Medicine Representative

Margeaux Black, School of Dental Medicine Representative

Margeaux is a dental student graduating in 2021. She is a co-leader of the dental workgroup and enjoys providing care and education to the patients at DAWN Clinic.

Juan Carlos, LGBTQ+ Representative

Hi! My name is Juan Carlos Lopez and I am one of the leaders of the DAWN Clinic’s LGBTQ+ night. I am a second year pharmacy student wanting to specialize in pediatrics and psychopharmacy. I enjoy helping people through tough times in their life and I want to be as helpful as possible by being the best clinician I can be.

Lizzie Ambros, LGBTQ+ Representative

Halimah Hamidu, Community Engagement Representative

Halimah is a co-leader of the Community Engagement workgroup and a team guide for the Diabetes Education workgroup. She is driven by the idea of increasing access to healthcare for those who are economically and socially marginalized. She is excited to aid in fostering closer relationships between the local Aurora community and the DAWN clinic.